Junior Auxiliary Of Hot Springs Elects New Officers/ New service Projects Planned For 2013/2014 Season



The Junior Auxiliary of Hot Springs recently elected new officers to fill their executive Board through May of 2014.  These include president, Christy Campbell; first vice-president, Sara Runyon; second vice-presidents Mindee DePersia and Megan Stathakis; and treasurer, Tanya Lanier.


The new board will lead the chapter in their various service projects throughout the year.  These include the child welfare project which assists an individual family through a difficult time, the JA Fun Day which provides a day of activities to special needs students in Garland County at Malvern Family Farm, the Scholarship program which gave $10,000 in scholarship money last year, and various special needs found throughout the year.


New service projects which began this year are LIFE and SOC.  LIFE, which stands for Looking Into Future Endeavors, works with the transitional youth program through Garland County DHS to provide education and insight to help prepare teens ages 14-19 as they enter adulthood.  This year’s focuses are finance, cooking, health & fitness, and career preparation.  The SOC (School Outreach Coordinators) program works with Garland County school district counselors and administrators to identify needs that they may have to help serve children and families who need assistance. Junior Auxiliary then helps to fulfill those needs on either a case by case or large-scale basis.  These may range from school supplies, to winter clothing and shoes, to food for lunches throughout the summer months and more.


JA of Hot Springs has a total of 56 members who each donate at least 48 hours every year to the Chapter’s various projects.  A year packed with service to families and children through 5 service projects that include everything from scholarships to area students to a day of fun for area special needs students at the Family Farm in Malvern. The chapter raises thousands of dollars each year through their signature event, “Bunko Bash” as well as through community partnerships with businesses throughout the Hot Springs area in order to fund these service projects.


For more information, or to make a tax deductible donation to JA of Hot Springs, visit its website at  For more information on NAJA, or call (662) 332-3000.


In photo: The 2013/2014 Junior Auxiliary of Hot Springs executive board includes:

Front Row:  Tanya Lanier, treasurer; Laura Hunt, fundraising co-chair; Ginger Henson, recording secretary; Cara Matthews, projects and research; Scarlett Kuhn, constitution/education; Sara Runyon, first vice-president; Christy Campbell, president; Kortney LaCombe, historian; Megan Stathakis, second vice president; Brittany Moore, special needs chair

Back Row: Mandy Golleher, public relations & LIFE chair; Marsha Gibson, fundraising co-chair; Ellen Stiffler, nominating chair & JA fun day co-chair; LeAnna Sanders, child welfare chair; Brandy DeLee, back to school bash co-chair; Tamra Barrett-Tankersley, parliamentarian; Tina Aitken, JA Fun Day co-chair; Mindee Depersia, second vice-president; Aundrea Crary, scholarship and life/associate membership chair.

Not pictured: Nicole Good, placement chair; Joy Black, website chair; Stephanie Foreman, SOC chair; Alyssa VanBebber, Back to school bash co-chair



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>